School Alerts
Home / Tutor Time Curriuculum

Tutor Time Curriuculum

Personal Development Time (Tutor Time):

Our tutor time currently consists of 5 key strands delivered every week. At Astrea Academy Dearne, we strive to ensure that all learning time is used effectively including the daily tutor time session.  Pupils are in horizontal year groups with an assigned Pastoral Leader and a Teaching Head of Year.

Pastoral Leader Year 7

Mr Terry Simon: Terry.Simon@astreadearne.org

Ms Lauren Myers Lauren.Myers@astreadearne.org

Pastoral Leader Year 8

Mrs Kay Child: Kay.Child@astreadearne.org

Mr Colm Atkinson: Colm.Atkinson@astreadearne.org

Pastoral Leader Year 9

Miss Emma Simpson: Emma.Simpson@astreadearne.org

Mr Thomas Bagnall Thomas.Bagnall@astreadearne.org

Pastoral Leader Year 10

Mrs Colette Ellis: Colette.Ellis@astreadearne.org

Mrs Jessica Stork Jessica.Stork@astreadearne.org

Pastoral Leader Year 11

Miss Jess Cleary: Jessica.Cleary@astreadearne.org

Mr Chris Hazard: Christopher.Hazard@astreadearne.org

 

All year groups undergo the following sessions: Astrea Dearne Personal Development Overview Autumn 2022-2023

All year groups (except for Y11 that may have some bespoke intervention in addition to tutor time activities) undergo the following sessions: 

1. Reading – delivered using Astrea Reading Strategy. Three books per year group. Use a range of reading strategies as shared in training. 

2. Careers – delivered by our internal CEAIG lead these sessions are made up of bespoke presentations, live broadcasts, Grofar activities and career events through the year 

3. PiXL LORIC – designed to develop a range of skills including: leadership, organisation, resilience, independence, communication, wellbeing, oracy, e-safety, futures and interactions with others (Them and Us) a bespoke programme is delivered for each year group in school 

4. Attendance, Behaviour, and Culture – a weekly celebration of classroom commendations, attendance and sessions that build upon our trust ethos and expectations 

 5. Assembly – delivered to celebrate or focus on annual events, raise awareness, give information and support on matters such as anti-bullying, protected characteristics, cultural celebrations and current news as well as celebrate successes amongst the year group. Our assembly programme is a progressive curriculum, having weekly themes that are built upon each academic year. 

Example Personal Development Activities:

PiXL LORIC

LORIC Schedule 2022-2023

 

Student work in tutor time:

Our students have their own tutor time exercise book whereby they will complete their tutor time activities and reflections. We expect students to demonstrate our PROUD expectations when completing this work such as the examples below:

PROUD:

  • Punctuation and grammar
  • Ruler and pencil for diagrams
  • Outstanding effort every lesson
  • Underline titles and key information
  • Dates and titles every lesson
Translate Language »